Skip to Main Contents


Yamaha press releases on our motor sports racing activities

GMT conquer Le Mans April 20, 2005

World Endurance champions Yamaha GMT94 fulfilled a lifelong ambition by winning one of the world痴 most prestigious races - the Le Mans 24 hour - this weekend.

The R1 squad and their championship winning riders David Checa, William Costes and Sebastien Gimbert won a pulsating race, defeating rivals Castrol Suzuki by just over 20 seconds at the end of 24 hours and a record 830 laps of the famous circuit.

Starting from pole position, the GMT trio displayed their famous consistency to lead the early stages, until Checa was forced to make an unscheduled pit stop to repair his gear lever after four hours.

But by midnight the Yamaha team regained a lead it would never lose, due in no small part to the team痴 lightning fast pit work. A cautionary pit stop in the final hour to investigate a possible oil leak allowed the Suzuki team to close the gap but with men and machine showing few signs of tiredness, Checa was able to maintain his fast pace to the very end to fend off a late challenge from his rivals.

Yamaha also won the Stocksport class, with Belgian team Acropolis finishing fifth overall with 802 laps completed.

David Checa
典here has never been any doubt in my mind that we could win Le Mans this year. We have tested for this, we knew we had the machine that would win, we knew we had the tyres and I knew that my friends William and Sebastien were just as happy as me with the whole package. When we came to Le Mans I knew that, as a team, we were faster than Suzuki and there was just no doubt in my mind that we would win, no doubt at all・

Christophe Guyot
展e have all worked so hard for this, not only the riders but everybody in the team. GMT94 is more like a family than a team. We have put our hearts into this. When I made the decision to go with Yamaha I knew that this moment would come, I had no doubts in my mind. But it痴 only the first, there will be more!・/p>

2005 Le Mans 24 hours - results

1 Yamaha GMT 94 (Yamaha) 830 laps
2 Suzuki Castrol 1 (Suzuki) 830 laps
3 Suzuki Castrol 2 (Suzuki) 823 laps
4 National Motos 5 (Honda) 809 laps
5 Team Acropolis EMS 99 (Yamaha) 802 laps
6 Bolliger Team Switzerland 8 (Kawasaki) 795 laps
7 Team AM Moto Racing 110 (Suzuki) 793 laps
8 JLC Moto Ulteamatum 45 (Suzuki) 793 laps
9 Decibels Endurance 33 (Yamaha) 791 laps
10 Team DAP Moto 91 Mobil 1 (Honda) 786 laps

Back to