President Message

Message from the management of Yamaha Motor

力争成为不断进步、独具一格的公司

大家新年好!2016 年,我们将开始实施全新的中期管理计划。我想借此机会为所有集团公司的广大同仁大致介绍一下计划内容。

品牌价值

2013 年初,所有集团公司开始采用品牌口号“Revs your Heart”,以便广泛调动积极性,进而实现“创造优异价值和体验,丰富全球雅马哈用户生活。”的理想。在 2016 年以及今后的日子里,我们将坚持理想和“Revs your Heart”中包含的热情,继续朝着最佳的公司管理目标迈进,这一目标就是要进一步提升雅马哈品牌的价值并使其真正的脱颖而出。此外,我们将会对公司在市场中的运营计划进行考察、检验和分析,以便确定它们对公司品牌价值的影响,之后我们会将该信息反映到公司的运营计划中。

公司管理概况

在 自2016 年起的三年内,作为公司 2020 年长期愿景的一部分,我们将继续努力工作,力争成为“不断进步、独具一格的公司”。作为公司长期愿景的前三年,我们制定了中期管理计划,以便确保获得更强大的公司实力,并将其作为不断获得更多进步打下坚实基础的一个阶段。公司实力是指通过销售规模、收益能力、财力、技术实力以及工作场所等方式体现的综合实力。此外,在仔细思考雅马哈独特风格和发展方式的同时,我们认为展示我们的特色也很重要。

上一中期管理计划的汇总情况

下面,我将对上一中期管理计划的结果进行汇总讲解。首先,我们来看一下公司业绩指标的重要变化(也就是 2012 年和 2015 年的对比情况)。

  • 净销售额增长率 137%(不考虑发达国家市场中的汇率影响,这个数字为 119%)。该结果高于日本汽车制造商 130% 的平均水平。
  • 核心产品产量为 6,139,000 台(减少 609,000 台)。虽然中国和东南亚摩托车产量有所下降,但因为发达国家市场摩托车业务出现复苏,而且新兴市场高价值摩托车的销售额有所增加,我们的净销售额有所增加。
  • 发达国家市场摩托车主要市场的市场占有率 16.4%(上升了 4.0 个百分点),东南亚市场摩托车市场占有率 26.8%(下降了 3.3 个百分点),印度摩托车市场占有率 3.6%(上升了 1.2 个百分点),船外机市场占有率 39.1%(下降了 2.8 个百分点),ROV 市场占有率为6.5%(上升了 3.2 个百分点)。
  • 我们的主要财务指标持续提升,其中股本回报率 12.4%(上升了 9.5 个百分点),股东权益比率 38.5%(上升了 6.5 个百分点),每股净收益 169 日元(上涨 148 日元)。
  • 我们实现了市值达到一万亿日元的目标。315% 的增长率高于 200% 的市场平均数。

以上结果产生的主要问题有,基于发达国家市场强劲涨势而获得的业务拓展,新兴市场继续向高价值产品转移,东南亚摩托车市场继续恢复,印度摩托车市场定位以及 ROV 业务不断加强。

当前中期管理计划的发展方向

到 2015 年为止,我们的经营状况保持稳定,发达国家市场需求持续恢复。由于廉价的资源以及货币市场的疲软等因素,新兴市场经营状况有衰退迹象,并出现了市场疲软。在这样的业务环境下,我们一直在通过持续的业务增长努力增加企业价值。我们预计,2016 年业务环境将继续 2015 年的形式,我们将继续努力保证稳定的收入水平,同时加大投资力度,以便获得新的增长。我们预计,2018 年发达国家市场业务状况将保持稳定,一些新兴市场将开始出现复苏。我们将制定业务管理计划,凭借这项计划,我们希望迎来新的增长,净销售额将达到两万亿日元,营业收入比将达到 10%。

2018 年的具体目标

到 2018 年,我们预计净销售额和营业收入将分别达到两万亿日元和 1800 亿日元 (9%)。与 2015 年预计相比,净销售额将高出 3500 亿日元(增加 21%),营业收入高出 550 亿日元(增加 44%)。

在营业状况保持稳定的发达国家市场,我们将通过提高品牌知名度、推进计划内结构改革并提高运营效率(降低库存保有量等)的方式增加盈利。对于业务下滑,市场前景持续不确定的新兴市场而言,我们计划在印尼和越南实现一定程度的复苏,在印度实现业务拓展,我们希望无需花费太大精力就可以实现目标。在这种条件下,我们希望通过进一步推进平台建设和压缩成本、限制资本支出并提升经营效率(缩减库存量等)增加盈利。

以上是主要业务的汇总情况。我们摩托车业务的目标包括在无需追求数量扩展的情况下将其改造为一个高效的业务结构,并实现 1.3 万亿日元的净销售额和 740 亿日元的营业收入。作为进一步拉动增长的经营模式,船用产品业务目标是实现 3,400 亿日元的净销售额以及至少 20% 的营收比。vehicles & solutions business 目标是实现 3,600 亿日元的净销售额以及至少 10% 的营收比。除此之外,我们还希望 RV 业务能够成为摩托车和船用产品之后的第三大核心业务。在这些和其他业务单元中,请稳步切实推进各自计划。

面向2018 年的财务策略

首先,我们将通过增加现有业务盈利能力的方式构建起稳定的财务平台。其次,我们将通过这个稳定的财务平台增加对新增长点的投资、金融业务资金和股票股息。以上各点是我们构建稳定性并实现稳步增长的核心。

以下是我们要在此财务策略框架中坚持的四条资本政策。

  • 在投资方面,我们将进行总计 2,400 亿日元的投资。我们将优化现有业务并停止对其进行投资(1,800 亿日元),以便为新的增长策略构建框架(600 亿日元)。
  • 在研发方面,我们将进行总计 3,500 亿日元的投资。在优化现有业务(2,800 亿日元)的同时,我们将为新的增长策略构建框架(700 亿日元)。
  • 在金融业务方面,我们将在推进至今的业务基础(应收款项余额 2,300 亿日元)上实施 2018 年之前的业务拓展计划,努力实现应收款项余额 3,200 亿日元的目标。这是推进并支持现有业务的核心。
  • 关于股息,我们将从之前 20% 的支付比率下限(即作为股息支付的周期性收入的比率)提高到 30% 的指导线。

产品竞争性

较高的产品竞争性是业务竞争优势的根本保证。上一个中期计划期间(2013-2015 年),我们研发并推出了 250 种不同型号的产品,这一数字是上上一个时期(2010-2012 年)的两倍。在新的时期,在强化产品市场化、成本优势和产品质量的同时我们计划研发并推出 270 种不同型号的产品。

  • 产品市场化:我们将根据“发(GEN)”(新的理念和传播方式),“悦&信(Play & Sure)”(可以为客户创造快乐和信任的技术),“魅(S-EX-Y)”(表达精致的活力,形式,质地和魅力)和“结(Ties)”(建立强大团队并与客户保持紧密联系的能力)这五个理念,研发新产品,进而让“Monozukuri”的理念重新焕发生机。我们希望在所有业务领域生产一系列新的产品,以便彰显公司品牌标识的独特性。
  • 成本优势:在上一个计划期间,我们实现成本削减 425 亿日元,这帮助我们向督建稳定财务平台的目标迈进出了第一步。在这一计划期间,我们计划实现成本削减净值 600 亿日元。我们将在采购、生产和物流环节采取全面的措施。请进一步加强并实施一直运行至今的成本削减方法。
  • 质量:2015 年,我们没能实现 0.5%(净销售额比率)的市场索赔费用目标。我们的比率是 0.67%。质量是我们希望客户能直接、立刻感受的,我们品牌价值的一部分。通过“I am Yamaha”的倡议,我们将用实际行动去了解市场环境和产品使用的真实情况,实施适当的研发、评估和产品准备过程,并提高我们感知日常工作变化和异常的能力。

全球管理

我们 90% 的净销售总额都来自日本以外。而且,我们 90% 的核心产品都产自日本以外的国家和地区。我们希望继续保持这种模式。此外,在产品研发方面,我们将在日本实施先进的技术研发和基础平台开发工作,同时我们还会在各市场区域展开针对特殊市场的适应性研发工作。需要特别提出的是,现阶段,MC/RV/WV 30-40% 的研发工作任务都在各市场执行。这符合我们为各市场快速、安全及时提供最佳产品的核心目标。此外,我们还希望拓展我们的全球产品研发理念。例如,我们将会看到为全球市场系统性研发的产品会在东南亚国家进行组装,之后再出口到全球市场进行销售。

这些例子说明,从全球角度出发进行的公司和业务管理工作将变得越来越重要。现在,我们要比以往任何时候更加重视企业监管和全球人才培养工作。尤其是全球人才培养工作,在我们制定大多数全球性培训计划时,我们会将海外机构 60% 的核心职位(高级管理级别)分配给当地人员。此外,在公司总部,我们还通过具有前瞻性地安排海外管理人员、增加海外员工和女性管理级别员工并提供更多工作方式选择等方式追求人才的多样化。

三个业务领域/四种增长策略

2010 年,我们确定了三个战略业务领域,也就是“满足生活方式需要”、“个人交通方式改善”和“可以使人类、地球和社会和谐发展的创新技术”。对于这三个领域,我们现在制定了四种全新的未来增长策略:

  • 发展个人交通业务领域
    我们将改进并拓宽两轮/三轮/四轮车辆品种及其技术水平,并通过这种举措拓宽客户群。我们将挑战自我,研发具有雅马哈独特风格的独特 PAS、EV、CV、MC、LMV、RV 和 C4W(紧凑型四轮车)。
  • 参与价值三万亿日元的船用产品市场
    为了成为不仅能提供引擎的供应商,我们将通过发展整个船用产品业务领域全系列产品的方式增加外围设备并作为一个系统供应商制定船体发展策略。我们将继续坚守全球第一品牌的市场地位。
  • 解决方案业务
    我们必须继续发展 IM、UMS、游泳池等业务,并根据发展情况构建独特的商业模型。通过对雅马哈技术与外部专业技术进行结合,我们将迎来在工业、农业、日常生活、保险等领域提供新价值的全新挑战。
  • 发展基础技术
    雅马哈已经掌握电源、车身/船体/机体、控制/信息、材料/生产等领域的基本技术。在进一步继续提升这些基础技术水平的同时,我们将通过创新型技术融合大胆创新。

这就是我们的中期管理计划。在自2016 年起的三年里,以及 2020 年以后的时期,我们将在各集团公司内部努力营造一个人人不怕困难的工作环境。我们希望,在这种环境下,每个人都将表达自己的声音,就所有可能性、计划和实施意见和工作进行沟通和考虑,以便实现理想的结果。因此,让我们将接下来的三年时间看作取得个人发展,并可为公司创造实际好处的机会。2016 年是所有计划开始实施的一年。

MC: Motorcycle
RV: Recreational Vehicle
WV: Water Vehicle
PAS: Electrically Power Assisted Bicycle
EV: Electric Vehicle
CV: Commuter Vehicle
LMW: Leaning Multi Wheel
IM: Intelligent Machinery
UMS: Unmanned System

* In the event of inconsistency between this version and the English version, please refer to the English version.

President Message

Message from the management of Yamaha Motor

Aiming to become a unique company that continues to achieve dynamic milestones

2016 is the year that we begin our new medium-term management plan. I would like to take this opportunity to outline the plan for employees at all Group companies.

Brand Values

Beginning in 2013, the brand slogan "Revs your Heart" has been adopted by all Group companies for initiatives to realize our ideal of "creating exceptional value and experiences that enrich the lives of everyone worldwide who deals with Yamaha." In 2016 and beyond, holding on to the ideals and passion encapsulated within "Revs your Heart," we will work towards our greatest company management goal?further improving the value of the Yamaha brand, and making it truly shine. In addition, we aim to observe, survey, and analyze our company initiatives in the marketplace to determine how they are impacting our brand value, and then reflect that information in our company initiatives.

Company Management View

For the three years beginning in 2016, and as part of our long-term vision looking beyond 2020, we will continue working to become "a unique company that continues to achieve dynamic milestones." As the first three years of our long-term vision, the medium-term management plan is positioned to reliably achieve greater corporate strength, and as a stage to firmly lay the groundwork for even more dynamic milestones. Corporate strength refers to overall strength through means such as scale of sales, earning power, financial power, technological capabilities and strength in the field. Moreover, while thinking carefully about the unique style of Yamaha and how to develop it, we consider it important to show our distinctiveness as well.

Summary of Previous Medium-term Management Plan

I will summarize the results of the previous medium-term management plan below, beginning with the major changes in corporate results indicators (comparison between 2012 and 2015).

  • The growth rate for net sales was 137% (119% excluding exchange-rate effects in developed markets). This was above the average level for Japanese automakers, which was 130%.
  • The number of units from core production was 6,139,000 (down 609,000). While production of motorcycles declined in China and ASEAN, net sales rose due to motorcycle business recovery in developed markets and increased sales of high-value motorcycle products in emerging markets.
  • Market share of in our main markets was 16.4% (up 4.0) for motorcycles in developed markets, 26.8% (down 3.3) for motorcycles in the ASEAN market, 3.6% (up 1.2) for motorcycles in India, 39.1% (down 2.8) for outboard motors, and 6.5% (up 3.2) for ROVs.
  • Our primary financial indicators continued to improve, including return on equity of 12.4% (up 9.5), equity ratio of 38.5% (up 6.5), and net income per share of 169 yen (up 148 yen).
  • We achieved our target in market capitalization reaching the one trillion yen level. The rate of increase of 315% was above the market average of 200%.

The primary issues raised by the above results are achieving expansion based on solid trends in developed markets, as well as continuing to shift to high-value products in emerging markets, continuing the recovery of the ASEAN motorcycle market, and strengthening our positions in the Indian motorcycle market, ROV business, etc.

Direction of the Current Medium-term Management Plan

Up until 2015, we saw solid business conditions and the recovery of demand in developed markets. Emerging markets saw declining conditions and market slumps due to cheap resources and weak currencies, etc. In such a business environment, we have been working towards increasing corporate value through sustained growth. As the business environment in 2016 is expected to continue as it did in 2015, we will work towards ensuring stable income and advancing investment for new growth. We also expect that 2018 will see business conditions remain solid in developed markets and the beginnings of recovery in some emerging markets. We will create business management that will move us towards the beginnings of new growth, beginning from a level of two trillion yen in net sales and an operating income ratio of 10%.

The Shape of 2018

For 2018, our targets for net sales and operating income are two trillion yen and 180.0 billion yen (9%), respectively. Compared to 2015 forecasts, this is up 350.0 billion yen (up 21%) for net sales and up 55.0 billion yen (up 44%) in operating income.

In the developed markets where business conditions have remained solid, we will increase profitability by making our brand stand out, advancing planned structural reforms, and increasing business efficiency (reducing stock held, etc.) With regards to volume in emerging markets, where business slumps and financial uncertainty look set to continue, while we are aiming for a certain level of recovery in Indonesia and Vietnam and expansion into India, generally we are aiming for targets that can be reached without unreasonable amounts of effort. Under those assumptions, we hope to increase profitability by further advancing platform development and cost reduction, restricting capital expenditure and increasing business efficiency (reducing inventory held, etc.).

This is a summary of our main business. Our aims for the motorcycle business include reforming the business structure to focus on high-efficiency models without pursuing scale of quantity, and achieving net sales of 1.3 trillion yen and operating income of 74.0 billion yen. Our aims for the marine products business is, as our business model for further growth, net sales of 340.0 billion yen and an operating income ratio of 20% or more. Our aims for our vehicles & solutions business are net sales of 360.0 billion yen and an operating income ratio of 10% or more. Within that, we are aiming for our RV operations to become our third core business, following motorcycles and marine. In these and other business units, please advance your plans steadily and reliably.

Financial Strategies towards 2018

First, by increasing the earning power of our existing business, we will create a stable financial platform. Next, through this stable financial platform, we will increase new-growth investment, finance business funding, and stock dividends. These points are the core of our efforts to establish both stability and growth.

Below are four capital policies that we will pursue within this financial strategy framework.

  • In terms of investment, a total of 240.0 billion yen will be invested. We will optimize existing businesses and level off our investment in them (180.0 billion yen), creating a framework for new growth strategies (60.0 billion yen).
  • For research and development, a total of 350.0 billion yen will be invested. While optimizing existing business (280.0 billion yen), we will create a framework for new growth strategies (70.0 billion yen).
  • With regards to finance business, building upon the base construction we have advanced to date (receivables balance of 230.0 billion yen), we will carry out business expansion towards 2018, targeting a receivables balance of 320.0 billion yen. This is at the core of promoting and supporting our existing business.
  • Regarding stock dividends, we will raise them from the lower limit of 20% of our previous payout ratio (the ratio of income for the period that is paid out as dividends) to a guideline of 30%.

Product Competitiveness

High product competitiveness is the root of business competitiveness. In our last medium-term plan period (2013-2015), Yamaha Motor's product competitiveness multiplied compared to the period (2010-2012) as 250 different models were developed and released. In this new period, as we enhance our product marketability, cost competitiveness and product quality, we plan to develop and release 270 different models.

  • Product marketability: We will make our Monozukuri philosophy come to life through the creation of new products based on the five ideals of “GEN” (new concepts and communications), “Play & Sure” (technology that creates exhilaration and trust amongst customers), “S-EX-Y” (expressing refined dynamism, forms, texture and fascination), “Ties” (the power to build a strong team and strong ties with customers). We look forward to producing a stream of new products in all areas of our business to show off the uniqueness of our brand identity.
  • Cost competitiveness: During the previous period, we achieved net cost reductions of 42.5 billion yen, which helped us take the first step towards a stable financial platform. During this period, we are aiming for net cost reductions of 60.0 billion yen. We will be taking comprehensive initiatives covering procurement, manufacturing and logistics. Please further enhance and implement the cost-reduction methods that have been devised up until now.
  • Quality: In 2015 we were unable to achieve our target for market complaint expenses of 0.5% (net sales ratio). Instead, the rate was 0.67%. Quality is the part of our brand value we want customers to feel immediately and above all. Through our “I am Yamaha” initiative, we are working to understand the market environment and the actual state of product use, carry out appropriate development, evaluation, and production preparation, and improve our capacity to sense changes and abnormalities in our everyday work.

Global Management

90% of our consolidated net sales are outside of Japan. Further, 90% of our core-production units were made in countries and regions outside of Japan. We hope to maintain this level going forward. Moreover, in terms of product development, the initial technological development and basic the platform development are carried out in Japan, while the development of models adapted for specific markets is carried out in each market’s region. Specifically, 30?40% of the development workload for MC/RV/WV, etc. is now carried out in each market. This is at the core of our aim to provide products that are optimized for markets quickly, safely and timely. Additionally, we hope to expand our global-model development concept. For example, we envision that products systematically developed for the global market will be assembled in ASEAN countries and then exported for sale in markets worldwide.

These instances suggest that corporate and business management from a global perspective are becoming more and more important. More than ever before, we will work hard on corporate governance and developing global personnel. In particular, regarding development of global personnel, while we are making the most of global training programs, we are appointing local talent to 60% of core positions (executive class) in our overseas locations. Moreover, within our head office, we are proactively pursuing diversity through the appointment of overseas executive staffers, increasing the hiring of overseas staffers and female managerial staffers, as well as offering more options for work styles, etc.

3 Business Fields/4 Growth Strategies

In 2010, we identified three strategic business fields?“fulfilling lifestyles,” “enjoyment in personal mobility” and “innovative technologies that harmonize with people, the Earth and society.” For these fields, we now have developed four new growth strategies for the future:

  • The Growing World of Personal Mobility
    We will improve and widen the scope of two/three/four-wheeled vehicles and their technology, and by doing so broaden our customer base. We will challenge ourselves to create PAS, EV, CV, MC, LMW, RV, and C4W (compact four-wheelers), unique vehicles based on the unique style of Yamaha.
  • Competing in the 3-trillion-yen global marine market
    Aiming to be more than simply an engine supplier, we will add peripheral equipment and develop our hull strategy as a system supplier rolling out operations across the marine products business. We will continue to be a firmly global No. 1 brand.
  • Solutions Business
    We must continue to grow the IM, UMS, Pool Businesses, etc., and build unique business models based on that growth. By combining the technology within Yamaha and specialized knowledge from outside, we will take on genres that provide new value in the fields of industry, agriculture, daily life, infrastructure, etc.
  • Developing Foundational Technology
    Yamaha already has the elemental technology for power sources, vehicle bodies/hulls/aircraft bodies, control/information, materials/production, etc. While continuing to improve these elemental technologies even further, we will innovative creative new combinations.

This is our new medium-term management plan. Over the three years from 2016, and then beyond 2020, we will strive to create an environment that fosters a can-do attitude for everyone within our Group companies. We hope that within that environment, everyone will make their voices heard, communicate, consider all possibilities, plan and implement ideas, and work to achieve results. So, let’s take the next three years as an opportunity to grow individually and as a company producing real results. 2016 is the year in which this all begins.

*Announced on January 6

MC: Motorcycle
RV: Recreational Vehicle
WV: Water Vehicle
PAS: Electrically Power Assisted Bicycle
EV: Electric Vehicle
CV: Commuter Vehicle
LMW: Leaning Multi Wheel
IM: Intelligent Machinery
UMS: Unmanned System